Tyler Rill (second from right) of Hampstead, MD has been newly elected to the Maryland Soybean Board. Rill received an early introduction to the work of the soy checkoff this summer when he joined other farmer leaders from across the country for the United Soybean Board’s “See for Yourself” program, learning about the checkoff ’s role in the global soy industry.

The Maryland Soybean Board recently held elections for its 2023-2024 Board of Directors and welcomed Tyler Rill of Hampstead to the board. Rill comes to the board with deep familial ties to soybean production and marketing. Grandson of Donald Lippy of the original Lippy Brothers, Rill manages the farm’s soybean export division as well as their seed division, County Line Ag.

“I am eager to represent Maryland soybean growers and learn more about the investments of the soybean checkoff by serving on the board,” says Rill.

Rill was able to get an early introduction to the work of the soy checkoff this summer prior to joining the Board, by participating in in the United Soybean Board’s “See for Yourself” program. Through the program, he had the opportunity to join other soybean grower-leaders from across the country in meeting with customers and visiting with ports, crush facilities, and aquaculture farms in Cambodia, Vietnam, and Singapore. This program offers U.S. soybean farmers from across the country the opportunity to see and evaluate the work of the checkoff firsthand. From the use of U.S. Soy domestically to its export to customers around the world, See for Yourself will shows the checkoff ’s role in the global soy industry.

“The word ‘awesome’ tends to be overused but having the opportunity to be [t]here in Southeast Asia and seeing for myself how U.S. Soy plays an important role in global food security is truly awesome,” remarked Rill on the trip.

Rill fills the seat of retiring Maryland Soybean Board Director Randy Stabler of Brookeville. Eddie Boyle of Cordova and Steve Walter of Hughesville were also re-elected to fill the Upper Shore and Southern Maryland positions on the Board, respectively. Chairman Joshua Appenzeller of Sudlersville, Vice Chairman Eddie Boyle, and Treasurer Curt Lambertson of Stockton were then re-elected as officers. Continuing to serve on the Board are Ralph Stambaugh of Union Bridge representing Central Maryland, Dale Brown of Denton representing the Upper Shore, Jason Spicer of Church Creek representing the Lower Shore, and Evan Staley of New Windsor and Shane King of Princess Anne serving as Directors At Large.

The Maryland Soybean Board (MSB) directs the national soybean checkoff program within the state. MSB’s Board of Directors is made up of ten soybean farmers, each appointed for a three-year term, along with ex-officio members representing agribusiness, the Maryland Department of Agriculture, and the University of Maryland. Directors represent local soybean farmers as they serve on the board. The number of Directors serving each region is determined by the soybean production of the region.


For More Information:
Danielle Bauer Farace, Executive Director
Maryland Soybean Board
443-812-4526  |  danielle@mdsoy.com