(SALISBURY, MARYLAND) – Travis Hutchison of Cordova, Md., has been elected chairman of the Maryland Soybean Board. Hutchison succeeds William Layton, who has retired from the statewide board after reaching the term limits.

Brian Johnson of Westover was elected vice chairman and Danny Saathoff of Denton was elected treasurer at the board’s August meeting. The directors officially assumed their duties Oct. 1.

Ten farmer-directors volunteer their time on the Maryland Soybean Board, which administers soybean checkoff funds for soybean research, marketing and education programs in the state.  Hutchison, Johnson and Saathoff are joined by Alan Hudson of Berlin, Randy Stabler of Brookeville, Linda Burrier of Union Bridge, Joshua Appenzeller of Millington, Bill Langenfelder of Worton, Jeffrey Griffith of Lothian and Jason Spicer of Church Creek.

April Cheesman of Perdue Farms, Inc.; Jim Lewis of the University of Maryland Extension Service and Mark Powell of the Maryland Department of Agriculture serve as ex-officio members.

In Maryland, farmers grow about a half a million acres of soybeans, producing more than 20 million bushels of beans each year. With a value of $173 million to the state’s economy, soybeans are one of Maryland’s top crops.

The checkoff program is funded by farmers through an assessment of one-half of one percent of the net market value of their soybeans at the first point of sale. One-half of the checkoff funds stay in Maryland for programs; the other half is sent to the United Soybean Board.

For more information on the Maryland Soybean Board, visit www.mdsoy.com.

# # #

For More Information:
Sandra Davis, Executive Director, Maryland Soybean Board
Office: 410.742.9500